Typing One Handed

Parenting is a game where only the kids know the rules.

What’s In a Name? December 9, 2009

Filed under: blogging — Kelly Jo @ 2:19 pm

My first blog, titled Typing One Handed, went up for the world to see on December 1st.  Little did you know, my site was created more than a full week before that on November 23rd.  Why the week between creation and posting, you ask?  The answer is simple: the hunt for the perfect name.  I needed a name that captured the purpose of my blog.  Something that lets you know that as much as I love writing, I love my kids more.  I don’t need to stop holding my baby just to entertain you, because I can do both at once.  I was looking for a title that shows you I’m devoted, yet distracted.

Thus, Typing One Handed was born.

There is a problem, however.  I was considering registering the domain name typingonehanded.com, when I decided to research the name.  I wanted to know if someone else out there was also typing one-handed.

It turns out there are people out there who are typing one-handed.  In fact, there are a lot of them.  Only their reasons for typing one handed are much less pure than mine.  While I am typing one-handed because I am holding my perfect baby girl, other people are typing one handed as they engage in, um, lewd cyber acts.  (Trying to keep this PG rated here.)

WHY DID NO ONE TELL ME I LOOK LIKE A PERVERT?

For a couple days now I have been trying to decide if a new name is necessary.  Is this typing one handed a pretty common term out there, and all of you are thinking bad things/gossiping about me and my computer activities behind my back?  Or is this something that only participants in this act would know (and therefor you, dear reader would never have known)?

While laying in bed last night I was thinking about this (instead of sleeping).  Well, first I was listening to “Welcome Christmas” from the Grinch run over and over through my head.  When I started wondering if I was pronouncing the gibberish lyrics correctly, I decided perhaps I should think about something more useful.  Like what to do with the name of my blog.  That’s when I decided to pose the topic to my readers.

I would love to receive some feedback on this, just leave me a comment down below.  Let me know your thoughts on the name.  And if you think this new information warrants a new name please let me know.  Suggestions for new names are welcome, please keep in mind the point I am trying to convey.

I look forward to hearing your thoughts, and will keep you posted on my decision. And in the meantime, I hope you will join with me in having a good laugh on my behalf.  Because seriously, it’s pretty hilarious if you think about it!

 

9 Responses to “What’s In a Name?”

  1. Peggy Says:

    You could have a name like a radio station… KKZM am/fm

  2. Traci Says:

    I’ll be sure to put some thought into this. In the meantime, it makes the “Why am I typing one-handed” box in the corner a whole heck of lot more interesting. 😉

  3. Jordan Says:

    I never thought of it in the dirty way until you brought it up, and I’m pretty dirty minded…LOL! So I’m assuming most of your readers didn’t think it was dirty either. I’d say keep it.

  4. Jill Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Happy to make people laugh… it’s really all I live for!

  5. Sara Says:

    Kelly – I think Kisha’s sounds way worse than yours! I never thought yours was the slightest bit unsavory.

  6. Chelsea Says:

    KJ,
    I am one of the most perverted people I (and lots of people) know, and I didn’t think of your title in a nasty way at all…
    I think its awesome, funny, and very appropriate. Keep it!!

  7. Becky Says:

    Keep it! I think it’s the perfect name although I got a good laugh out of the dirty version of it. Didn’t think of that until you mentioned it!

  8. Jessica Says:

    Kelly~ I think all the mom’s out there understand. My mind is always in the gutter though and I didn’t think of anything gross with your name. I think you should keep it.


Leave a Reply

